About

I am a mother of four children ranging in age from 3 to 15, three boys and a girl.  I am very fortunate to have an incredibly supportive husband that allows me to run with all the crazy ideas that come to me.  My family is the most important thing in my life and I am blessed to have such an amazing group of people to live with, along with our two dogs, a cat and a number of fish.

We educate our younger two children at home and are lucky to have a great community of home educators to travel this path with.  I believe in natural, self-directed learning but its not a philosophy that is easy for me to put into practice, being a former public school teacher, but I try my best to allow the kids to discover learning opportunities on their own and limit my interference.   My older two boys attend school, my ex-husband feels that is the best place for them to learn, so we work with it.  We live in southern Ontario in Canada and are fortunate to have relaxed homeschooling policies which allow us much freedom in our educational style.

I am currently working on my Masters of Education, with a focus on alternative educational models.  I am very interested in democratic education and free schools.  I am hoping to write about our adventures, struggles and triumphs as well as provide learning activities that your family may enjoy.   Thanks for accompanying me on this journey.  I hope that you can relate to my stories and will share your own ideas and stories as well.

Michelle

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s